The serene NUJ Hall, Lokoja, Kogi State, was on Thursday, 25th March, 2017 a beehive of activities as members of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Kogi State Chapter gathered to elect a new executive council that would pilot its affairs for the next two years.


Like all things in life, the Mrs. Lola Balagbogbo-led executive had served the chapter meritoriously and had to give way for fresh hands after the expiration of their tenure.

At about 11:50 am, the meeting began with an opening prayer, followed by introduction of members. Mrs. Gbogbo in her brief remark thanked the current National President of the association, Mallam Denja Abdullahi, for his unalloyed support for the chapter during her tenure, which was also evident by the presence of a representative from the national executive for the elections.


Without much ado, the business of the day commenced in earnest with the nomination of a three-man Electoral Committee headed by Dr. Samuel Metiboba after the dissolution of the 2015/2017 executive. The Committee swung into action and nominations for each elective position were made. With the exception of the offices of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and the Secretary, all other elective positions were unopposed. The elections proper were conducted in a convivial atmosphere devoid of rancour. The only time there appeared to be a palpable air of anxiety and suspense was during the voting and collation of results for the offices of the Chairman and Secretary.


Official ANA Logo

At the end of the elections, Dr. Kennedy Obohwemu emerged the new Chairman with a landslide victory, while Mr. Tope Joel became the new Secretary of the chapter. The full list of members of the executive council is presented thus:

Dr. Kennedy Obohwemu — Chairman
Mr. Musa Sule Zakari — Vice-Chairman
Mr. Tope Joel — Secretary
Mr. Boluwaji Obahopo — Assistant Secretary
Mrs. Obada Grace — Financial Secretary
Mrs. Awodi Mamenoka — Treasurer
Mrs. Olugbemi Tolulope — Auditor
Mr. Ajiboye Moses — PRO
Mr. Enemaili Adofu Reuben — PRO East
Mrs. Comfort Obaromi — PRO West
Mr. Yusuf Hopa — PRO Central
Mr. Agboore Olawale — Ex-Officio I
Mr. Jacob Apeh — Ex-Officio II.

In a rare display of the spirit of sportsmanship, those who lost out were seen congratulating the winners in a profusion of hand-shakes. The inauguration of the new executives followed immediately by ANA’s National Legal Adviser, Barr. Isaac A. Ogezi.


In his acceptance speech, the new Chairman Dr. Kennedy Obohwemu thanked all members for the overwhelming support he received. He promised to infuse positive energy into the noble association. “I will not abuse the confidence you have reposed in me,” he assured the electorate, while promising to digitalize the association, raise its public image, energize teen authorship, engage actively in community service, encourage author marketing and cross-promotion, initiate welfare schemes for members, among other laudable projects.

Words of advice and prayers were offered to the new crop of executives. A vote of thanks by the new Chairman, Dr. Obohwemu, rounded off the day’s activities.

Credit: Isaac A. Ogezi


About Dr. Ken

Medical Doctor, Publisher, Editor, Novelist, Playwright, Visionary Poet, Activist, Blogger
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.


  1. Innocent Okoacha says:

    Kudos Kennedy. U are doing Delta great. Keep shining

  2. adewale says:

    congrats chief

  3. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations chief.Keep up the good work.We are highly inspired…..

  4. Dr Abovwe says:

    Congrats Chief

  5. Irunkwor Darlingtina Onokpe says:

    Indeed am always proud of you dear. You are great.Congratulation from DELSUTH, Oghara.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Good job boss,congrats.

  7. Felix Olaomi says:

    Good job boss,congrats!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s