The Nigerian Medical Association (NMA) has raised a N20 million Educational Endowment Fund for the immediate support of families of its six members from Ekiti State who died in an auto accident on Sunday, April 22, 2016.


This is contained in a communique issued by the Association at the end of its 56th Annual General Conference and Delegates Meeting in Sokoto on Friday.

Six medical doctors from Ekiti State had died in an autocrash on their way to Sokoto for the NMA AGM. The driver of the vehicle was not spared. The accident occurred along the Kaduna-Abuja highway.

In the communiqué which was read at a news conference by the Association’s newly-elected National President, Prof. Mike Ogirima, NMA said that an inter-faith service in honour of the departed members would hold on May 16 in Ado Ekiti.

The Association urged federal and state governments to urgently provide and station well-equipped, functional ambulances along major highways for immediate conveyance of injured victims of vehicular accidents to hospital.

“The federal and state governments should commence immediate rehabilitations of roads with proper and appropriate road signage on the major highways across the country.

“The meeting also resolved that the former interim Administrator of Federal Medical Centre, Owi, Dr A. O. J. Kolajo, be suspended indefinitely and referred to the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria for further disciplinary action,” it said.

The communique also stated that a free medical program was organized in Tangaza Local Government of Sokoto State as part of the AGM where general and specialist medical services were offered to the community.

It stated that 754 patients were seen during the program and that 120 general surgeries were successfully carried out.

The highlight of the event was the election of a six-member National Officers Committee to run the affairs of the Association for the next two years.

The new officers of the Association are:

1. Prof. Mike Ogirima – President

2. Dr. Kingsley Enweremadu – 1st Vice

3. Dr. Adamu Umar – 2nd Vice President

4. Dr. Yusuf Sununu – General Secretary

5. Dr. Ahmed Attah-Jacob – Deputy General Secretary

6. Dr. Prince Dan Jumbo – Treasurer.


About Dr. Ken

Medical Doctor, Publisher, Editor, Novelist, Playwright, Visionary Poet, Activist, Blogger
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s